2020 Alberta Agriculture Hall of Fame Inductees


The award honours those who have significantly contributed to agriculture, the agri-food industry and rural life in Alberta.

‘Every 2 years, Alberta’s Agriculture Hall of Fame recognizes up to 3 individuals whose outstanding leadership, innovation and business practices have advanced Alberta’s agriculture and food industry at the provincial level or beyond,’ says Susan Lacombe, program coordinator for the Hall of Fame.

‘The 2020 inductees have worked hard for decades to improve agricultural practices, support growth in the industry and educate the next generation of Alberta farmers and ranchers.’

The newest members of the Alberta Agriculture Hall of Fame are Walter Paszkowski, David Price and George Visser.

Walter Paszkowski was instrumental in laying the foundation for the modern canola industry in Western Canada. His championing of canola as a viable crop for Alberta farmers was central to its rise in significance and importance as one of the key economic drivers of Alberta’s agriculture sector today.

David Price has been an innovator and visionary in swine genetics, production, processing and marketing for more than 50 years. His contribution to the advancement and expansion of pig breeding and marketing in Alberta and across Canada laid the groundwork for future producers’ success.

With a strong commitment to the farming community and a keen interest in modern, up-to-date farming practices, George Visser has been a leader in the agricultural community since the 1970s. He was instrumental in giving producers in Alberta a unified voice during his tenure on the Alberta Agriculture Products Marketing Council.

Due to public health measures to contain the spread of COVID-19, the in-person 2020 Agriculture Hall of Fame Ceremony was cancelled. The 2020 inductees will be formally recognized at an event, likely in 2021, when it is safe to gather.

More information about the Hall of Fame can be found on the Alberta Agriculture Hall of Fame webpage or by calling 780-968-6557.


For more information, connect with Susan Lacombe:

Hours: 8:15 am to 4:30 pm (open Monday to Friday, closed statutory holidays)
Phone: 780-968-6557
Toll free: 310-0000 before the phone number (in Alberta)
Email: susan.lacombe@gov.ab.ca